Full Circle

Just a few days shy of the four-month anniversary of my arrival in Australia, I would complete the circle. In August, I had viewed Sydney Harbour, the Harbour Bridge, and the Opera House as I flew over. Now I would see them again, this time from the ground. It was not a truly significant event, but I was still quite tickled at the thought.

Of these sites, the first that would come into view was the Harbour Bridge. It was surprisingly imposing. It’s one of the largest single-span bridges in the world, and it made an impressive backdrop to Sydney’s historic district, The Rocks, as I approached along Macquarie Street.

The photo below is from a different day and a different perspective than that first approach, but I like it, because I think it gives a hint of the size of the bridge. It is not too hard to see how it got it’s nickname: the Coat Hanger.

Sydney's Harbour Bridge

Leave a comment

Filed under Australia, Book, Travel

Leave a Reply

