Observations Before Moving On

Before the narrative moves from Canberra to New South Wales, I thought I would once again pause to make a few observations on blog statistics. It has been about two years since I last did this, but one thing remains the same: eucalypts are still the top hit, by a mile. Other trees, such as banyan and screw palm, are also popular. Overall, flora leads fauna, but water buffalo seems to be second only to eucalypts. I would have thought Tasmanian devils would have done better. Among other topics, the Australian Impressionist painters, Joseph Banks, the Gold Rush, and Mark Twain in Melbourne are the leaders. After that, hits seem to be fairly evenly spread across the hundreds of other posts.

While the site has visitors from all over the world, most hits come from Australia. I had intended that my book and this site would introduce the world, especially the United States, to Australia, but I realize in retrospect that not a lot of people outside of Australia would, in fact, ever be searching for Charles Sturt, banksia flowers, or Arthur Streeton.

I have been delighted to discover that there are schools and universities that link to this site, which gladdens my heart. I always like to think I am helping readers understand how wonderful the world is. Even when hits to the site don’t come from a school link, I can usually tell when there has been a homework assignment on a topic I cover, as there will suddenly be 25 queries on “When was X introduced into Australia?”. Good fun.

It will be interesting to see what the next two years bring. I’m hoping more connections to people—and maybe more adventures to share.

2 Comments

Filed under Australia, History, Nature, Travel

2 responses to “Observations Before Moving On

  1. Oh I missed this when you posted in WA. I love stats, and these are interesting. Fascinating about the gums eh? While my Eucalypt posts aren’t my top ones, for a litblog they are surprisingly high. I’m fascinated too that flora leads fauna. I really would have thought the opposite, but there you go. Just shows how difficult it really is to judge the needs and wants of the Internet audience.

Leave a Reply

