Captain Cook Memorial Water Jet

If you’re reading the book, you’ll know that, after a bit of a mad dash and an overnight bus trip, I found myself in Canberra. Canberra is the federal capital of Australia, located in the Australian Capital Territory. As is common among capital cities, there are lots of monuments and embassies, imposing buildings and national museums.

Those of you who have been with me for a while will likely remember that I’m a big fan of Captain James Cook. I posted about him in the early days of the blog: Captain James Cook.

Not far from my hotel in Canberra, there was an impressive monument to this first surveyor of Australia’s coast. The Captain Cook Memorial Water Jet rises gracefully out of Lake Burley Griffin, arching against a backdrop of blue sky and white buildings. I wondered for a moment how this commemorated the great explorer/scientist, but then I noticed a large, black, metal globe nearby, where all three of Cook’s long, astonishing, world-changing voyages are outlined. In the photo below, while the water jet dominates,  you can see the globe toward the bottom right.

The Cook Water Jet

1 Comment

Filed under Australia, Book, History, Travel

One response to “Captain Cook Memorial Water Jet

  1. Now you’re in my territory I’ll be especially interested. I love this jet – so simple and yet dramatic. It was “erected” (do you erect such a thing?) to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Cook’s “discovery” of Australia.

Leave a Reply

